This is the "Information Literacy Sessions" page of the "Faculty Additional Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Faculty Additional Resources  

Last Updated: Apr 11, 2017 URL: http://libguides.aims.edu/faculty_resources Print Guide RSS Updates

Information Literacy Sessions Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Information Literacy Sessions

Information Literacy Sessions

Also known as Information Literacy or Bibliographic Instruction, the library offers general and course-related or subject specific library instruction sessions for classes. These sessions include:

  • Learning Commons Orientations
  • Electronic Database Orientations
  • Specialized Information Sessions

These sessions, offered days and evenings, are planned in collaboration with faculty members, so that the instruction is directly relevant to the particular course topics and assignments.

 

Specialized Information Sessions

Specialized Information Sessions

These sessions are customized to meet specific needs. Some areas of interest are Google and More, evaluating Web sites/pages, online search strategies, in-depth use of the library's online/subscription databases, locating hard-to-find information online/accessing the Hidden Web, and using specialized resources such as Findlaw, Medline, Children’s Literature Database, etc.

To schedule a session submit this Request for Library Instruction form OR contact the library:
Phone: (970) 339-6458    
Email: reference@aims.edu

Please give at least 3-7 day advance notice from the desired date.

     

    Quick Start Library Research Sessions

    Quick Start Library Research Sessions

    In addition to the classroom sessions, individual research sessions are also offered by library staff. These sessions, known as Quick Start Research Sessions, can be arranged by instructors in order for students to earn extra credit or fulfill a part of their classroom assignments. Sessions are usually 20-30 minutes.

    Quick Start Research Sessions are also offered at various times throughout the semester in the Learning Commons.

    Library customers may also contact library staff to set up a specific time for an individual session.

    Quick Start Research Sessions will help student learn:

    • Selecting a topic
    • How to locate articles, books, or primary sources
    • Ease in accessing databases off campus
    • Aid in citing a source
     

    Electronic Database Orientation

    Electronic Database Orientations
    (General or Subject Specific)

    Primarily conducted in the classroom, students are introduced to the use of the library's online/subscription databases, including various search strategies, techniques, and tips.

     

    Learning Commons Orientation

    Learning Commons Orientations

    Includes a tour of our Learning Commons space, and if so desired, a “find out information about the library” exercise. This will introduce students to the library's print and electronic resources and other services.
    We can also combine a short tour of the Learning Commons with a short introduction to our databases.

    24/7 Access to Library Information Sessions

    Using Mediacast, students will have access to sessions on:  Finding Books, Electronic Books, Library Homepage, Databases: A-Z, Academic Search & ProQuests, CQ Researcher, Issues & Controversies, Newsbank, and Google.

     

    MediaCAST

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip